Toledo City Council

One Government Center, Suite 2120
Toledo, Ohio 43604
Phone:  419-245-1050
Fax:  419-245-1072

View Toledo City Council Google Site Here (Access to Agendas, Audio of meetings, Calendar, Legislation both pending and enacted, and the weekly Toledo City Journal).

Rules of Toledo City Council - View Here

A searchable database of legislation can be found here


President of Council - Steven Steel -

 To find out what City Council District you live in, please contact: 
         Toledo City Council at 419-245-1050 or
          The Lucas County Board of Elections at 419-213-4001






Clerk of Council
Gerald Dendinger                
Asst. Clerk of Council
Julie Gibbons


Toledo City Council is the legislative branch of City Government and operates in accordance with the provisions of the Charter of the City of Toledo, first adopted by the voters in 1914 and amended by the voters from time to time.

Legislative authority in the City is vested in a twelve-member Council.  Six members of the Council are elected at-large and six from districts; all for four-year terms.

The Council is authorized to enact ordinances and resolutions relating to City services, tax levies, appropriating and borrowing money, licensing and regulating businesses and trades and other municipal activities.  The Council also has authority to fix the compensation of City officers and employees.  The Council elects one of its members to serve as the President of Council, its presiding officer.

City Council Meetings are held bi-weekly on Tuesday at 4:00 PM in Council Chambers, One Government Center.  On the alternate Tuesdays, City Council holds an Agenda Review meeting to prepare for the upcoming City Council Meeting.  Agenda Review is held at 2:00 PM in Council Chambers, One Government Center.

If you cannot find what you are looking for, please contact Toledo City Council at 419-245-1050.